train tracks

According to a mum at the swimming pools today, the best decision she has ever made was signing her children up to swimming lessons. All of us other parents concurred. Living in Auckland surrounded by beaches, ensuring our children can swim is an important life skill. Although I think she was somewhat regretting the decision by the end of the lesson as sitting poolside was rather hot.

Every day we make decisions – from the best, great, wise and good to the worst, bad, silly and even the inconsequential. Some decisions we deliberate on for ages – especially the big ones – is this the right house, is he the right husband (actually that didn’t much deliberation on my behalf!) . Smaller decisions sometimes also take a lot of deliberation – whether to buy that handbag. Ok,  maybe not! Others we make almost subconsciously – the route we drive to work, what to watch on TV, certainly ordering a coffee falls into this camp for me.

The important thing to remember though is that our decisions set us on a path and in a certain direction. It is not by chance that my wardrobe has err a few handbags stuffed into it! It’s not by accident that we are living in the suburb we are living in or that there are a lot of Parisian features in my house. All of these stemmed from decisions I have made.

Lysa TerKeurst wrote this “Your decisions will determine direction. Your direction will determine destination.” If you don’t like the direction your life is heading, check the decisions you are making. It’s those decisions that are impacting your future. The only way to change the direction you’re heading in, is to change the decisions you are making.

The decisions we make today determine the destination of our tomorrow” (Lysa Terkeurst). Makes our decisions weighty stuff! The great thing is, God is there to help with the big and the little decisions. Bear Grylls had some sage advice on this. He said in his letter to Scouts the world over:

“You see, if I am going to enter a difficult jungle or unchartered mountain range, I always make sure I have a good guide. Life is the same. Go it alone by all means but you make the journey that much harder. Trust me.. For me, my simple faith has so often brought light to a dark path, joy to a cold mountain and strength to a failing body. And who better to have as a guide than the person who made the path or the mountain in the first place. Psalm 121 says

“I lift my eyes up to the mountain; where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, maker of Heaven creator of the Earth.”

Good person to have on side I always figure”

As it stands, I think next week at the kids’ swimming lessons us parents might come armed with iced water!

 

